Qualitative psychological market research on online fashion retail is exciting!

Today this requires immersion in the consumers’ whole world of communication and how they want this engineered – a cosmos that is continuously developing and throws up new opportunities for marketing. concept m has developed a unique approach to market research for this segment.

Online fashion: more than just shopping sites

It is long since online fashion retail just took place on e-commerce websites or on smartphone shopping apps. Successful fashion retailers exploit the full repertoire of digital possibilities: blogs as trend certification of the brand and territory for product placement, social network channels like Instagram with affiliated “InstaShop”, newsletters with new daily incentives, brand communities with peer group feeling and many more offers.

The guiding principle of systematically linking online with “brick and mortar” offline worlds is successfully pursued by most fashion providers. The H&M chain inspires its customers with its digital presentations showing: the brand is actually more daring, more fashionable and further ahead of the mainstream than can be experienced in the stores.

H&M

Online fashion: the unlimited flood of offers

To understand the “new world” of fashion commerce it is worth looking back to the time before e-commerce: the offerings were found in pedestrian precincts with a limited number of chains or independent boutiques. Distance selling was serviced by a manageable number of classic mail-order companies the customer had in her relevant set. Lifestyle and fashion magazines set the trends and promoted the brands.

The situation today: 24/7 involvement with fashion

Someone in the fashion game constantly gets new impulses through SoM, newsletters, cookies or the shops as such. The range knows no bounds: the savvy can choose the most extravagant brands and sources of supply from long tail e-commerce, e.g. boutique shopping all over Europe via Farfetch.com, Lyst.com etc. In the world of influential blogs and in the social networks the dividing lines between independent discovery and commercial promotion become blurred just like they do between private and brand environments.

The consumers react in completely different ways to the unlimited flood of offers made possible by e-commerce. The group of “fashion waverers” seeks compartmentalisation and short-cuts in the e-commerce process. A rather overweight 45-year-old enters “black jeans size 46” on Google shopping and is immediately directed to detail sites that save her looking at overweight models. ‘Fashion enthusiasts’ love to constantly examine new looks and styles. In visual snacking mode, they filter enormous quantities of inspiring input from blogs, well-designed shopping sites, from Instagram or other social media channels just like the whale filters the krill.

Online fashion: integrated in usage states of mind and customer journeys

Different usage patterns of online fashion appear not only between people but also in one and the same person in different situations and usage states of mind. Sitting in the underground on the way to work and getting a small fashion kick with the favourite blogger while escaping from the grey weather outside to the beautiful beach settings of Barbados corresponds to a totally different mental state than the planned purchase of an evening dress because the best friend is getting married one month from now and you want to look stunning. In our qualitative market research we identified a consolidated model of 5 (7 or so) psychological online fashion states of mind, accompanied by detailed requirement profiles for the design of the online channels.

Surfing, Online shopping

Depending on the usage states of mind, the customer journeys differ while surfing through the online fashion worlds. Customers in a dreamy inspired state of mind let themselves drift pleasurably. What they look at how often on what channel (social network/ app/ web) using what device is totally detached at first from actual purchase intentions and price rating. Some providers like e.g. Asos manage to involve the online surfer in this state of mind with social media offers. After this phase of stimulation, the surfer is cleverly taken on to more retail-oriented channels. You can become an active part of the Asos (style) world!

Customer, Engagement

Based on an exact understanding of online retail states of mind we can also derive how the different online channels can be joined in a psychologically effective relationship of complementarity, i.e. a complete understanding that also includes analogue channels like classic advertising, second screen advertising, all kinds of print as well as stores etc..

Marketing, Affiliate

Morphological online retail research: the added value compared to classic qualitative usability tests

The examples show: the successful positioning and optimisation of fashion retail offers requires an overarching perspective starting from the psychological contexts the customer finds herself in.

How does morphological research actually proceed to meet these requirements?

As a first step we conduct morphological in-depth interviews to explore the surfers’ motives and intentions which the online store or other online channels should take up. Here we relate – following the integrated approach – to the specific fashion target groups the fashion retailer wants to reach and can reach. An offer from bonprix does not have the same goals as an offer from zalando – it is thus essential to understand which fashion expectations and style expressions are to be satisfied.

Using accompanied surf interviews, the morphological UX research derives the rules on how the websites and online stores address the longings and motives and establish the desired surfing states of mind. In this setting the test persons are requested to move freely over websites and to voice their thoughts out loud. Moderation is a kind of participatory observation, which follows the surfing process very closely, at each place probing what is visually attractive, what has stopping power, where to go next, etc.

To further structure the surf interview, the test persons are also given certain tasks, e.g. look for a dress for a festive summer occasion.

The central movement patterns on the websites and online stores can be reconstructed from a manageable number of stretched in-depth interviews.

For these interviews it has proven effective to use eye-tracking because this allows the unconscious surfing process and visual grammar of website language to be captured in greater detail. The standard method of morphological surf interviews is then varied as follows: in the first quarter of an hour an eye-tracking session is completed to record the fixation points while surfing in an eye-tracking video. In the subsequent in-depth interview this video is used as the starting point for further exploration of the conscious and unconscious drivers of surfing.

Another complementary technique of morphological UX research are webcam interviews where the interviewer follows the test person’s surfing process live online via screen sharing. Thanks to the flexibility and cost advantages, this procedure allows a larger number of short interviews to be conducted, benefiting the representativeness and width of the considered consumer groups.

Morphological online fashion research arrives at very precise strategy and implementation recommendations which provide online strategists and designers with extensive help to successfully manage their retail brand and their retail stores. Consequently, this research is a very relevant addition to classic usability or UX research focusing on user ergonomics.

The article was published in September 2016 in the MARKTFORSCHUNG.DOSSIER.

More information on the topic can be obtained on request from:dirk.ziems@conceptm.eu and veronica.ebenfeld@conceptm.eu

 

Verwandte Beiträge

Köln 0221 92359010 - Berlin 030 847124320 - London +44 20 7129 1150 - Los Angeles +1 323 984 7550 - Beijing +86 138 1163 1447|info@conceptm.eu

Inspired by Fashion: Morphologische Forschung für Online-Fashion-Retailer

Qualitativ-psychologische Marktforschung im Feld Online-Fashion-Retail ist spannend!

Denn dafür taucht man heute in die ganze Kommunikationswelt der Kunden und ihrer Inszenierungswünsche ein – ein Kosmos, der sich ständig weiterentwickelt und dabei vielfach ganz neue Möglichkeiten für das Marketing auslotet. concept m hat für dieses Feld einen uniquen Marktforschungszugang entwickelt.

Online-Fashion: Mehr als Verkaufsseiten

Online-Fashion-Retail findet längst nicht mehr nur auf E-Commerce-Webseiten oder auf Smart-Phone-Einkaufs-Apps statt. Die erfolgreichen Fashion-Retailer spielen auf der ganzen Klaviatur der digitalen Möglichkeiten: Blogs als Trend-Beglaubigung der Marke und Feld für Product Placement, Social-Network-Kanäle wie Instagram mit angeschlossenem „InstaShop“, Newsletter mit täglich neuen Incentivierungen, Brand-Communities mit Peer-Group-Feeling und viele Angebote mehr.

Die Leitidee des „Brick and Mortar“ – Online- mit Offline-Welten systematisch zu verknüpfen – wird von den meisten Fashion-Anbietern erfolgreich verfolgt. Der Filialist H&M inspiriert seine Kundinnen mit seinen digitalen Auftritten, die zeigen: Die Marke ist doch mutiger, modischer und dem Mainstream mehr voraus als die Filialen das erleben lassen.

H&M

Online-Fashion: Die grenzenlose Angebotsflut

Um die „neue Welt“ des Fashion-Commerce zu verstehen, lohnt es sich, einmal den Blick zurück in die Zeit vor dem E-Commerce zu werfen: Das Kaufangebot fand sich in Fußgängerzonen mit einer begrenzten Anzahl von Filialisten oder Einzelboutiquen. Der Distanzhandel wurde von einer überschaubaren Anzahl von klassischen Versandhändlern bedient, die die Kundin im Relevant Set hatte. Lifestyle- und Modezeitschriften setzten die Trends und promoteten die Marken.

Die Situation heute: Die Beschäftigung mit Mode findet 24/7 statt.

Wer im Spiel drin ist, erhält laufend neue Anstöße über SoM, Newsletter, Cookies oder die Shops an sich. Das Angebot kennt keine Grenzen: Wer sich auskennt, kann im E-Commerce-Longtail die ausgefallensten Marken und Bezugsquellen wählen, etwa europaweites Boutiqueshopping über Farfetch.com, Lyst.com usw. In der Welt der einflussreichen Blogs und in den Social Networks verwischen sich die Grenzen von unabhängigem Entdecken und kommerziellem Werben sowie von privater Welt und Markenwelt.

Die Konsumentinnen reagieren in ganz unterschiedlicher Art und Weise auf die grenzenlose Angebotsflut durch den E-Commerce: Die Gruppe der ‚Mode-Unsicheren’ sucht nach Abschottungen und Abkürzungen im E-Commerce-Prozess. Eine etwas Übergewichtige 45-Jährige gibt bei Google-Shopping „schwarze Jeans Größe 46“ ein, und landet direkt auf Detailseiten, was ihr den Blick auf übergewichtige Models erspart. ‚Mode-Begeisterte’ lieben die ständige Auseinandersetzung mit neuen Looks und neuen Styles. Sie filtern im Modus des Visual Snacking riesige Massen an inspirierendem Input aus Blogs, gut gemachten Verkaufsseiten, von Instagram oder anderen Social Media Kanälen so, wie der Walfisch den Krill filtert.

Online-Fashion: Ganzheitlich in Nutzungsverfassungen und Customer Journeys eingebettet

Unterschiede der Nutzungsmuster von Online-Fashion zeigen sich nicht nur zwischen Personen, sondern auch bei ein und derselben Person in unterschiedlichen Situationen und Nutzungsverfassungen. Sich in der S-Bahn auf dem Weg zur Arbeit den kleinen Mode-Kick mit der Lieblingsbloggering zu geben, und dabei vor dem grauen Wetter draußen in die schönen Beach-Szenerien von Barbeidos zu fliehen, entspricht einer ganz anderen Verfassung als der geplante Zielkauf eines Abendkleides, weil in einem Monat die Hochzeit der besten Freundin ansteht, und man dort auch glänzen möchte. In unserer qualitativen Marktforschung haben wir ein konsolidiertes Modell von 5 psychologischen Online-Fashion-Verfassungen identifiziert, die mit detaillierten Anforderungsprofilen für das Gestaltung der Online-Kanäle einhergeht.

Surfing, Online shopping

Abhängig von den Nutzungsverfassungen entstehen unterschiedliche Customer Journeys beim Surfen durch die Fashion-Online-Welten. In der schwelgerisch-inspirativen Verfassung lassen sich die Kundinnen genussvoll treiben. Was sie sich, wie oft und über welchen Kanal (SoNet/App/Netz) sowie über welches Device anschauen, ist zunächst völlig abgekoppelt von realen Kaufabsichten und der Preisbeurteilung. Manchen Anbietern wie beispielsweise Asos gelingt es, die Online-Surferin durch Social Media Angebote in diese Verfassung zu involvieren, um sie nach einer Phase des ‚Anfütterns’ geschickt auf kaufnähere Kanäle überzuleiten. Man kann aktiver Teil der Asos-(Style-) Welt werden!

Customer, Engagement

Von dem genauen Verständnis der Online-Retail-Verfassungen ausgehend können wir auch erschließen, wie die verschiedenen Online-Kanäle in einem psychologisch wirksamen Ergänzungsverhältnis verknüpft werden können.

Und zwar in einem ganzheitlichen Verständnis, das auch Analoges, wie klassische Werbung, Second-Screen-Adverstising und Printanstöße aller Art, sowie Filialen usw. miteinbezieht.

Marketing, Affiliate

Morphologische Online-Retail-Forschung: Der Mehrwert gegenüber klassischen qualitativen Usability-Tests

Die Beispiele zeigen: Für die erfolgreiche Ausrichtung und Optimierung von Fashion-Retail-Angeboten bedarf es einer übergreifenden ganzheitlichen Perspektive, die von den psychologischen Sinnzusammenhängen ausgeht, in der die Kundin steckt.

Wie geht die morphologische Forschung im Einzelnen genau vor, um diesen Forschungsanspruch zu erfüllen?

In einem ersten Schritt explorieren wir in morphologischen Tiefeninterviews, was die Motive und Intentionen der Surfer sind, die der Online-Store bzw. die anderen Online-Kanäle aufgreifen sollten. Dabei beziehen wir uns – dem ganzheitlichen Ansatz folgend – auf die spezifischen Modezielgruppen, die der Fashion-Retailer erreichen will und erreichen kann. Ein Angebot von bonprix hat nicht die gleichen Ziele wie ein Angebot von zalando – deshalb gilt es zu verstehen, welche Modeerwartungen und Style Expressions im Einzelnen getroffen werden sollten.

Die Regeln, wie die Webseiten und Online-Stores die Sehnsüchte und Motive abholen und die gewünschten Surf-Verfassungen herstellen, erschließt der morphologische UX-Research auf Basis von begleitenden Surf-Interviews. Bei diesem Setting werden die Testpersonen aufgefordert, sich frei über Webseiten zu bewegen und ihre Gedanken dabei laut zu machen. Die Moderation erfolgt dabei in Form einer Art teilnehmenden Beobachtung, die dem Surfprozess sehr detailliert folgt, und an jeder Stelle hinterfragt, was jeweils visuell verlockt, wo man hängen bleibt, wo man weiter will usw.

Um das Surf-Interview weiter zu strukturieren, werden den Testpersonen auch bestimmte Aufgabenstellungen gegeben, bspw. die Suche eines Kleids für einen feierlichen Sommeranlass.

Die Rekonstruktion der zentralen Bewegungsmuster auf den Webseiten und Online-Stores kann auf Basis einer überschaubaren Anzahl von lang ausgedehnten Einzel-Tiefeninterviews erfolgen.

Im Rahmen dieser Interviews hat sich auch der Einsatz von Eye-Tracking bewährt, weil man damit den unbewussten Surfprozess und die visuelle Grammatik der Webseiten-Sprache noch detaillierter erfassen kann. Das Standard-Verfahren des morphologischen Surf-Interviews wird dann folgendermaßen variiert: In der ersten Viertelstunde wird eine Eye-Tracking-Session durchgeführt, bei der die Fixationspunkte während des Surfverlauf in einem Eye-Tracking-Video festgehalten werden. Im anschließenden Tiefeninterview wird dieses Video als Ausgangspunkt für die weitere Exploration der bewussten und unbewussten Treiber im Surfverlauf genommen.

Ein weiteres ergänzendes Verfahren der morphologischen UX-Forschung stellen Webcam-Interviews dar, bei denen der Interviewer den Surfprozess der Testperson online live über Screensharing mitverfolgt. Aufgrund der Flexibilitäts- und Kostenvorteile kann mit diesem Verfahren eine größere Anzahl von Kurz-Interviews durchgeführt werden, die eine repräsentativere Erfassung der berücksichtigten Kundengruppen ermöglicht.

Die morphologische Online-Fashion Forschung kommt zu sehr präzisen Strategie- und Umsetzungsempfehlungen, die Online-Strategen und -Gestalter umfassend dabei unterstützen, ihre Retail-Marke und ihre Retail-Stores erfolgreich auszusteuern. Damit stellt diese Forschung eine sehr relevante Ergänzung zu der klassischen, auf Bedienungsergonomie fokussierten Usability- oder UX-Forschung dar.

Der Text ist im MARKTFORSCHUNG.DOSSIER im September 2016 veröffentlicht worden.

Mehr Informationen zu dem Thema erhalten Sie gerne auf Anfrage bei: dirk.ziems@conceptm.eu und veronica.ebenfeld@conceptm.eu

 

Weitere Artikel:

Rimowa und Louis Vuitton: Der Koffer als Statement

Blogwalk.de und die neuen Spielregeln für inspiratives Fashion-Marketing

 

Verwandte Beiträge

2017-05-16T14:54:10+00:00 Trends|

About the Author: